Airship Governance Documents

Release 0.0.1

Airship TC

Contents

1	Previous Elections	3
2	Election Officials	7
3	Election System	9
4	Technical Committee election	11
5	Working Committee election	13
6	How to submit a candidacy	15

Events	Start Date	End Date
TC Nominations	June 18, 2019 19:00 UTC	June 25, 2019 19:00 UTC
TC Campaign	June 25, 2019 19:00 UTC	July 2, 2019 19:00 UTC
TC Election	July 2, 2019 19:00 UTC	July 9, 2019 19:00 UTC
WC Nominations	July 16, 2019 19:00 UTC	July 30, 2019 19:00 UTC
WC Campaign	July 30, 2019 19:00 UTC	August 6, 2019 19:00 UTC
WC Election	August 6, 2019 19:00 UTC	August 13, 2019 19:00 UTC
WC Nominations*	October 9, 2019 19:00 UTC	October 16, 2019 19:00 UTC
WC Campaign*	October 16, 2019 19:00 UTC	October 23, 2019 19:00 UTC
WC Election*	October 23, 2019 19:00 UTC	October 30, 2019 19:00 UTC
WC Nominations*	January 6, 2020 19:00 UTC	January 20, 2020 19:00 UTC
TC Nominations*	January 6, 2020 19:00 UTC	January 13, 2020 19:00 UTC
TC Campaign*	January 13, 2020 19:00 UTC	January 20, 2020 19:00 UTC
TC Election*	January 22, 2020 16:00 UTC	January 29, 2020 16:00 UTC

^{*} Denotes a special election for a vacant seat.

See Election system, TC details and WC details.

Contents 1

2 Contents

CHAPTER 1

Previous Elections

1.1 2019 elected Technical Committee members

- Alexander Hughes
- · Alexey Odinokov
- James Gu
- Jan-Erik Mangs
- Ryan van Wyk

1.1.1 Results

• TC

1.1.2 2019 Technical Committee candidates

- Alexander Hughes
- · Alexey Odinokov
- Jaesuk Ahn
- James Gu
- Jan-Erik Mangs
- Ryan van Wyk

1.2 2019 Working Committee Election

1.2.1 Working Committee Members

- Nishant Kumar
- · Matt McEuen
- · Kaspars Skels
- · Drew Walters

1.2.2 Results

WC

1.2.3 2020 Working Committee Special Election Candidates

- Roman Gorshunov
- Nishant Kumar
- Matt McEuen
- · Kaspars Skels
- Drew Walters

1.3 2019 Working Committee Special Election

Special election to fill the remaining, vacant seat.

1.3.1 Working Committee Members

- Stas Egorov
- Nishant Kumar
- Matt McEuen
- · Kaspars Skels
- Drew Walters

1.3.2 Results

No formal vote required

1.3.3 2020 Working Committee Special Election Candidates

• Stas Egorov

1.4 2020 Technical Committee Special Election

1.4.1 Technical Committee Members

- Alexander Hughes
- · Alexey Odinokov
- James Gu
- · Andrew Leasck
- Jan-Erik Mangs

1.4.2 Results

• TC

1.4.3 2020 Technical Committee Special Election Candidates

- · Andrew Leasck
- Roman Gorshunov

1.5 2020 Working Committee Special Election

1.5.1 Working Committee Members

- Stas Egorov
- Nishant Kumar
- Matt McEuen
- Ian Pittwood
- Drew Walters

1.5.2 Results

No formal vote required

1.5.3 2020 Working Committee Special Election Candidates

• Ian Pittwood

CHAPTER 2

Election Officials

- Matt McEuen (mattmceuen), madgin at madgin dot net
- Chris Hoge (hogepodge), chris at openstack dot org
- Alan Meadows (alanmeadows), alan.meadows at gmail dot com
- Rodolfo Pacheco (jezogwza), jezogwza at gmail dot com

For any questions, please contact officials by mail or over IRC at #airshpit Freenode channel.

H/	١г	T		-
П <i>Р</i>	٦г	1	⊓.	\mathbf{u}

Election System

Elections will be held using CIVS and a Condorcet algorithm (Schulze/Beatpath/CSSD variant). Any tie will be broken using Governance_TieBreaking.

Technical Committee election

4.1 Elected Positions

Under the rules of the Airship Governance, we need to elect 5 TC seats for this election. Seats are valid for one-year terms.

• Technical Committee member - 5 positions.

4.2 Electorate

The electorate for this election are the individuals who earned the Contributor status some time in the past 12 months prior to the nomination period starts as defined by the Airship Governance document.

4.3 Candidates

Anyone who has demonstrated a commitment to Airship (community building, communications, or has had code merged to the Airship project repositories) within the last 12 months is eligible to run for the Technical Committee, as specified in the Airship Governance document.

Nominees propose their candidacy by submitting a text file to the airship/election repository. The file must be placed in candidates/<electcycle>/TC/<email_address>. The commit message for the patch must contain the candidate's current affiliation (company name or 'independent'). The candidacy is then confirmed by elections officials through gerrit. See *How to submit a candidacy* documentation below.

Working Committee election

Under the rules of the Airship Governance, we need to elect 5 Working Committee seats for this election. Seats are valid for one-year terms.

• Technical Committee member - 5 positions.

5.1 Electorate

The electorate for this election the Core Reviewers on the Airship projects at the time of the election.

5.2 Candidates

Any Contributor can propose their candidacy.

Nominees propose their candidacy by submitting a text file to the airship/election repository. The file must be placed in candidates/<electcycle>/WC/<email_address>. The commit message for the patch must contain the candidate's current affiliation (company name or 'independent'). The candidacy is then confirmed by elections officials through gerrit. See *How to submit a candidacy* documentation below.

How to submit a candidacy

Each candidate must nominate themselves for each elected position, and are encouraged to submit their own candidacy to gerrit, although where appropriate, others may submit a candidacy for those who have already self-nominated by other means.

If you are not already familiar with the Airship/OpenStack development workflow, see this more detailed documentation: https://docs.openstack.org/infra/manual/developers.html

Candidacies now need to be submitted as a text file to the airship/election repository. Here are the required steps:

- Clone the election repository: git clone https://opendev.org/airship/election.git; cd election
- Create a new file candidates/<election_cycle>/<leadership_role>/<email_address> containing the candidate statement.
- Commit the candidacy: git add candidates/<election_cycle>/<leadership_role>/<email_address>; git commit
- In the text editor add a title and specify your affiliation like:

Adding <your_name> candidacy for <leadership_role> role

Affiliation: <company name>

- Save the text and exit the text editor
- · Submit your candidacy: git review

For example Dana Developer (ddev on IRC) would compose a platform in a file named "candidates/2019/TC/dana@inconnu.org" to submit a TC candidacy for the 2019 election.

After the candidacy is submitted to gerrit, verification and approval will be performed by elections officials, followed by an update to the approved candidate list.

See also:

See the Election Officiating Guidelines page in the wiki for details on the election process.